The composition and theory department is a hub for teaching, creativity and experimentation in the field of composition, electro-acoustic composition, composition for the moving image and multimedia creation.

It houses the Centre de musique électroacoustique (CME), a resource centre for the HEM in the field of music technology, sound recording and interactive media. The CME collaborates closely with similar centres such as the IRCAM or McGill University. Moreover, the department is also the skills centre in the field of music theory, whose expertise is centred on Western musical language, but is also expanding to non-European traditions.

 

The main subjects taught are composition, electro-acoustic composition, mixed and multimedia composition, music writing and music theory.

Studies

Teachers of major disciplines

Nicolas Bolens

Head of the Composition and Theory Department - Professor of Counterpoint, 20th-Century Writing, and Practical Writing - Coordinator of General Music Training Modules

En associant traditions et explorations nouvelles des matières sonores, les œuvres de Nicolas Bolens investissent l’espace en valorisant les éléments et les sujets qui se présentent à lui. Combining traditions and new explorations of sound materials, the works of Nicolas Bolens invest in space by enhancing the elements and subjects that present themselves to him. His music is regularly connected to other elements: texts, films, places, evocations... In each context, he seeks an authentic dramaturgy that promotes unprecedented settings. For example, with the Batida ensemble, he imagined "Welcome to the Castle" (2017), three musical acts for musicians moving through the Allymes Castle near Amberieu-en-Bugey. For the Gémeau Quartet, he wrote "La Ville Oblique" (2013), a string quartet conceived as a musical extension of the short film "Un Chien Andalou" by Dalí and Buñuel. Written words, most often poetic, permeate his entire production. He has composed on poems by Celan, Sachs, Mallarmé, Char, Blok, Khayyam, Michaux, Éluard, Basho, Neruda, Rilke, Adonis, Shakespeare... These authors, from various times and origins, have led him to integrate many languages into his works, considering their sonic as well as semantic potentials. Orchestration also holds an important place in his work, rethinking the instrumentation of certain past works. In 2018, he re-orchestrated "Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen" and the 4th Symphony by Gustav Mahler for the Lemanic Modern Ensemble under the direction of conductor Pierre Bleuse. Commissioned by the association Ouverture Opera, his recent rewriting of Mozart's "The Magic Flute" follows the same approach. Nicolas Bolens has notably collaborated with the Batida ensemble, the Lemanic Modern Ensemble, the Swiss Chamber Soloists, the Ensemble Vocal de Lausanne, the Ensemble Vocal Polhymnia, the Ensemble Vortex, the Basler Madrigalisten, and the Ensemble Vocal Séquence... Born in Geneva, he first studied piano at the Conservatoire de musique de Genève, then completed his training in the composition class of Jean Balissat. He further honed his skills with Rudolph Kelterborn, Klaus Huber, Edison Denisov, and Eric Gaudibert. He is the recipient of numerous composition prizes, including those from the Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne (1993) and the Banque Cantonale Neuchâteloise (2002), as well as a scholarship from the Leenaards Foundation (1998). An engaged pedagogue and artist, he teaches counterpoint, 20th-century writing, and composition at the Haute école de musique de Genève, where he has been the head of the Composition and Theory Department since 2015. He is also involved in several institutions related to musical creation in Switzerland, including the Swiss Musicians Association, the Archipel Festival Association, the Nicati-de-Luze Foundation, and the Artistic Council of the Geneva Competition. Learn more about Nicolas Bolens  

Michael Jarrell

Professor of Composition

Born in Geneva on October 8, 1958, Michael Jarrell studied composition with Eric Gaudibert at the Geneva Conservatory and participated in various courses in the United States, including Tanglewood (1979). He furthered his studies at the Staatliche Hochschule für Musik in Freiburg im Breisgau with Klaus Huber. Since 1982, his work has garnered numerous awards: the Acanthes Prize (1983), the Beethoven Prize of the City of Bonn (1986), the Marescotti Prize (1986), the Gaudeamus and Henriette Renié Prize (1988), and the Siemens-Förderungspreis (1990). Between 1986 and 1988, he resided at the Cité des Arts in Paris and participated in the music computing course at IRCAM. He was then a resident at the Villa Medici in Rome in 1988/89, followed by the Swiss Institute in Rome in 1989/90. He received the Music Prize of the City of Vienna in 2010. From October 1991 to June 1993, he was a resident composer with the Orchestre de Lyon. Since 1993, he has been a professor of composition at the University of Vienna. In 1996, he was welcomed as a "composer in residence" at the Lucerne Festival and was honored at the Musica Nova Helsinki festival, which was dedicated to him in March 2000. In 2001, the Salzburg Festival commissioned a piano concerto titled "Abschied" from him. That same year, he was named a Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters. In 2004, he was appointed professor of composition at the Haute école de musique de Genève. Learn more about Michael Jarrell.

Luis Naon

Professor of Electroacoustic Composition - Mixed Composition

Born in La Plata, Argentina, in 1961, Luis Naon pursued his musical studies at the Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Universidad Católica Argentina in Buenos Aires, and later at the CNSM de Paris under the guidance of Guy Reibel, Laurent Cuniot, and Daniel Teruggi. He also studied with Sergio Ortega and Horacio Vaggione. Since 1991, he has been a professor of Composition and New Technologies at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris. Additionally, he taught composition at ESMUC (Barcelona) from 2003 to 2008 and has been a professor of electroacoustics at the HEM de Genève since 2006. From what could be considered his first work, "Final del Juego" for septet and magnetic tape (premiered at Studio 105 of Radio France in 1983), Naon has sought to implement this dual relationship (between America and Europe, between instruments and electronics). He has been awarded the UNESCO International Composers Tribune in 1990 and 1996 (for "Tango del desamparo" and "Speculorum Memoria"), the Fondo Nacional de las Artes (for "Reflets"), the TRINAC Prize from the International Music Council (for "Cinq personnages en quête de hauteur"), the Olympia Composition Prize (for "Ombre de l'ombre"), and the Municipal Prize of the City of Buenos Aires in 1991 and 1995 (for "Speculorum Memoria"). He was nominated for the "3rd Victoires de la Musique Classique" (for Sextuor ". "), "Prix Georges Enesco" from SACEM, and "Luis de Narváez" Prize from Caja de Granada for his String Quartet No. 2. Naon collaborates with various ensembles and institutions such as the Ministry of Culture and Communication, Teatro Colón (Buenos Aires), Musée d’Art Contemporain du Mexique, Orchestre de la Seine-Saint-Denis, Ensemble TM+, Lémanic Modern Ensemble, Interface, Musique Oblique, Musée d’Histoire de Montreuil, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, INA-GRM, IRCAM, Orchestre de Paris, Ensemble Contrechamps, Ensemble Diagonal, Ukho ensemble de Kiev, and in festivals like Musica Strasbourg, MANCA, Festival d'Aix en Provence, Festival Archipel, and Vivier de Montréal. In 1989, Naon composed the music for the parade on the Champs-Elysées and Place de la Concorde commemorating the Bicentennial of the French Revolution. This parade was televised worldwide. The cycle of 25 works "Urbana," initiated in 1991 and completed in 2013, crystallizes under this generic title through "Urbana" (1997). It includes 25 works ranging from acousmatic pieces to symphonic orchestra. He composed the music for the show "Les Princesses" for the opening of the Théâtre-Auditorium de Poitiers in partnership with choreographer Odile Azagury. Nearly 3 hours of music ranging from solo electroacoustic (for choreographers Anna Ventura, Karine Saporta, or Dominique Boivin) to pieces for 15 instruments and electronics (for choreographers Carolyn Carlson, Héla Fatoumi, Blanca Li, etc.). This entire production is captured on a double CD under the Empreinte Digitale label. Recent works include "Quebrada/Horizonte" for orchestra, "Pájaro al borde de la noche" for cello, electronics, and ensemble premiered at the recent Présences festivals of Radio France, "Ébano y Metal" for the Lemanic Modern Ensemble (Switzerland/France). Other notable recent works include "Rastros" for the ensembles Stick & Bow and Paramirabo of Montreal (featured in a monographic concert and video recording) and his "String Quartet III" (premiered at the Evora Festival in 2021, then at Archipel 2022 and projection space of IRCAM in 2023). His latest piece, "Fueye," concertino for bandoneon and ensemble, was premiered by Juanjo Mosalini and the TM+ ensemble at the Maison de la Musique de Nanterre in October 2022, followed by performances at La Seine Musicale and Gennevilliers in May 2023. Naon's works are published by Henry Lemoine, Gérard Billaudot, and Babelscores. Learn more about Luis Naon.

Gilbert Nouno

Head of the Centre de Musique Électroacoustique - Professor of Electronic Music - Multimedia Composition - Interactive Video Design - Internet Music - Interfaces, Digital Instrument Making & Immersive Systems - Concept & Creation, Open Space

Composer, sound artist, pedagogue, and researcher, Gilbert Nouno creates music that is highly in tune with visual arts and digital technologies. Curious about all forms of expression, he effortlessly crosses the boundaries between composition and improvisation. As a visual artist under the name Til Berg, he combines the synesthesia of sound arts with other media. Using music and sounds, he generates abstract and minimalist visuals with traditional and digital media such as video and lithography. Gilbert Nouno's collaborations are marked by aesthetic plurality with many artists such as Pierre Boulez and the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, George Benjamin and the London Sinfonietta, Jonathan Harvey and the Arditti Quartet, saxophonist Steve Coleman, and flutist Magic Malik... A laureate of the Villa Kujoyama in Kyoto in 2007, and the Villa Medici, Académie de France in Rome in 2011-2012, Gilbert Nouno joined the Centre de musique électroacoustique (CME) of the Haute école de musique de Genève as its head, teaches composition at the Royal College of Music in London, and is a visiting professor invited by the DAAD in Detmold (Germany). He teaches digital sound arts at Goldsmiths, University of London, where he is also a guest researcher, and live electronics & computer music design at Ircam. Learn more about Gilbert Nouno

Charlotte Perrey Beaude

Professor of Writing Practice - Cadence Writing - Music Theory

Charlotte Perrey began her musical studies with piano, quickly developing a strong inclination for improvisation and composition. After studying in advanced mathematics classes, she fully devoted herself to music and specialized in writing under the guidance of Stéphane Delplace. She continued her studies at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Paris, where she earned First Prizes in Harmony, Counterpoint, 20th-21st Century Writing, Fugue and Forms, as well as the Marcel Dautremer Prize. She studied notably with Jean-François Zygel, Thierry Escaich, and Marc-André Dalbavie. She currently teaches at the Haute école de musique de Lausanne and the Haute école de musique de Genève.

Rodolphe Schacher

Professor of Writing Practice - Analysis - Harmony - Counterpoint

Franco-Swiss composer and pianist Rodolphe Schacher was born in France in 1973. Schacher pursued his musical studies in Paris, Geneva, and Zurich, under the guidance of Michael Jarrell, Thierry Escaich, Gerald Bennett, and Ulrich Koella. He has been awarded five first prizes (harmony, counterpoint, Renaissance counterpoint, fugue and forms, and 20th-century music) at the CNSM in Paris and received the composition and theory diploma with honors, as well as the concert diploma in chamber music from the Zurich University of the Arts. Alongside his artistic activities, Schacher teaches analysis and writing at the Haute école de musique de Genève, writing at the Haute école de musique de Lausanne, and taught composition until June 2015 at the Zurich University of the Arts.

Antoine Schneider

Professor of Practical Writing - Contrepoint

After studying violin and musicology in Geneva, Antoine Schneider furthered his musical theory education in Zurich with Burkhard Kinzler and Andreas Nick. He also trained in musical direction, piano, and baroque violin. He is currently a professor of solfège and counterpoint at the Haute école de musique de Genève and the Haute école des arts de Berne, as well as a professor of musical training at the ESM Bourgogne-Franche-Comté (Early Music Department). In his teaching, he specializes in the practices of musical improvisation during the Renaissance period. He is regularly invited to give masterclasses across Europe and collaborates with Jean-Yves Haymoz, Barnabé Janin (CNSMD Lyon), and the Helicona project. He is the co-responsible for the website Super librum cantare (www.superlibrum.com).

Nicolas Bolens
Michaël Jarrel
Naon
Gilbert Nouno
Perrey
Schacher
antoine schneider
Teachers of minor disciplines
  • Louis Absil
    Solfège
  • Samuel Albert
    Acoustique et régie musicale, Séminaire d'acoustique
  • Vincent Arlettaz
    Histoire de la musique , Initiation à la recherche , Histoire et pratique de la musique contemporaine
  • Luciano Azzigotti
    Internet music
  • Nicolas Bolens
    Contrepoint, Ecriture du 20e siècle
  • Victor Manuel Cordero Charles
    Édition et séquenceurs, Éléments d'analyse, Analyse, Contrepoint, Orchestration
  • Orane Dourde
    Préparation au travail de Bachelor, Projet de Bachelor - Préparation et travail de réflexion
  • Federico Foderaro
    Design vidéo interactif
  • Carolina Gauna
    Atelier de recherche (master), Préparation au travail de Bachelor, Projet de Bachelor - Préparation et travail de réflexion
  • Alexandre Guy
    Solfège
  • Angela Mancipe
    Initiation à la recherche
  • Robert Märki
    Orgue comme instrument secondaire, Harmonie au clavier , Harmonie au clavier et improvisation (pour les pianistes)
  • Gilbert Nouno
    Concept & Création, Open Space
  • Isandro Ojeda Garcia
    Édition et séquenceurs
  • Charlotte Perrey Beaude
    Solfège , Écriture de cadences
  • David Poissonnier
    Séminaire d'acoustique, Technique audio et studio, Technique audio, scène, concerts, Interprétation de musiques mixtes
  • Mathilde Reichler
    Éléments d'analyse, Analyse
  • Luca Ricossa
    Ensemble grégorien, Monodies liturgiques, Solfège
  • Rodolphe Schacher
    Analyse, Contrepoint, Éléments d'analyse, Harmonie
  • Jean-Claude Schlaepfer
    Approche du langage musical, Harmonie
  • Antoine Schneider
    Contrepoint
  • Denis Schuler
    Préparation aux métiers Master
  • Pierre-André Taillard
    Séminaire d'acoustique
  • Erardo Vietti
    Orgue comme instrument secondaire, Harmonie au clavier , Harmonie au clavier et improvisation (pour les pianistes), Harmonie
Transversal academic functions
  • Noémie Bialobroda
    Professor of Chamber Music with Strings - Coordinator of Chamber Music (GE)
  • Nicolas Bolens
    Head of the Composition and Theory Department - Professor of Counterpoint, 20th-Century Writing, and Practical Writing - Coordinator of General Music Training Modules
  • Guillaume Castella
    Adjoint scientifique
  • Manon Edouard-Douriaud
    Assistante HES
  • Florence Jaccottet
    Head of the Music and Movement Department - Professor of Creative Experimentation Workshop - Jaques-Dalcroze Eurhythmics - Movement Technique and Composition - Coordinator of Physical and Mental Preparation
  • Edmée Pasche
    Coordinatrice de la préparation aux métiers
  • Nancy Rieben
    Coordinatrice de l'enseignement
  • Christophe Sturzenegger
    Professeur d'Harmonie au clavier - Harmonie au clavier et improvisation (pour les pianistes) - Piano comme instrument secondaire - Coordination harmonie au clavier et piano comme instrument secondaire
  • Carine Tripet
    Responsibles of pedagogical programs - Professor of Education Sciences
  • Johann Vacher
    Professeur d'Atelier de recherche Master - Harmonie au clavier - Piano comme instrument secondaire - Journées thématiques (coordinateur) - Coordinateur de la musique contemporaine
  • Gerardo Gustavo Vila
    Professor of Chamber Music – Coordinator of Chamber Music (NE)
Accompanists

Research projects

Events

Testimonials

J’ai choisi la HEM pour la renommée de son équipe pédagogique et l’importance des moyens qu’elle met à la disposition de ses étudiant-e-s dans le domaine de la musique électro-acoustique

Nicolas Roulive Etudiant en Master de composition

Le département composition et théorie est un pôle d’enseignement, de création et d'expérimentation dans le domaine de la composition, de la composition électroacoustique, de la composition à l'image et de la création multimédia.

Il abrite le Centre de musique électroacoustique (CME), centre de ressource de la HEM dans le domaine de la technologie musicale, de la prise de son et des médias interactifs. Le CME collabore étroitement avec des centres similaires, tels que l'IRCAM ou l'Université McGill. En outre, le département est également le centre de compétence dans le domaine de la théorie de la musique, dont l'expertise est centrée sur le langage musical occidental, mais s'élargit également aux traditions non européennes.

Les disciplines principales enseignées sont la composition, la composition électroacoustique, la composition mixte et multimédia, l’écriture musicale et la théorie musicale.

Formations

Enseignant-e-s disciplines principales

Nicolas Bolens

Responsable du département Composition et Théorie - Professeur de Contrepoint, Écriture du 20e Siècle, Pratique de l'Écriture - Coordination des modules de formation musicale générale

En associant traditions et explorations nouvelles des matières sonores, les œuvres de Nicolas Bolens investissent l’espace en valorisant les éléments et les sujets qui se présentent à lui. Sa musique est régulièrement liée à d’autres éléments : textes, films, lieux, évocations… Dans chaque contexte, il recherche une dramaturgie authentique favorisant des mises en situations inédites. Ainsi avec l’ensemble Batida il imagine Welcome to the Castle (2017), trois actes musicaux pour des musiciens se déplaçant dans le château des Allymes près d’Amberieu-en-Bugey. Pour le quatuor Gémeau il écrit La Ville Oblique (2013), quatuor à cordes conçu comme une extension musicale au court métrage Un Chien Andalou de Dali et Buñuel. La parole écrite, la plupart du temps poétique, arpente l’ensemble de sa production. Il a composé sur des poèmes de Celan, Sachs, Mallarmé, Char, Blok, Khayyam, Michaux, Eluard, Basho, Neruda, Rilke, Adonis, Shakespeare… Ces auteurs, de temps et d’origines diverses, l’ont conduit à intégrer de nombreuses langues dans ses œuvres considérant leurs potentiels sonores autant que sémantiques. L’orchestration occupe également une place importante, repensant ainsi l’instrumentarium de certaines œuvres du passé. En 2018 il réorchestre les Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen et la 4èmesymphonie de Gustav Mahler pour le Lemanic Modern Ensemble sous l’impulsion du chef d’orchestre Pierre Bleuse. Commandée par l’association Ouverture Opera, sa récente réécriture de La Flûte Enchantée de Mozart s’inscrit dans la même démarche. Nicolas Bolens a notamment collaboré avec l’ensemble Batida, le Lemanic Modern Ensemble, les Swiss Chamber Soloists, l’Ensemble Vocal de Lausanne, l’Ensemble Vocal Polhymnia, l’Ensemble Vortex, les Basler Madrigalisten, l’Ensemble Vocal Séquence… Né à Genève, il étudie dans un premier temps le piano au Conservatoire de sa ville natale, puis complète sa formation dans la classe de composition de Jean Balissat. Il se perfectionne ensuite auprès de Rudolph Kelterborn, Klaus Huber, Edison Denisov et Eric Gaudibert. Il est lauréat de nombreux prix de composition, dont ceux de l’Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne (1993) et de la Banque Cantonale Neuchâteloise (2002), ainsi que boursier de la fondation Leenaards (1998). Pédagogue et artiste engagé, il enseigne le contrepoint, l'écriture du XXe siècle et la composition à la Haute École de Musique de Genève, dont il est depuis 2015 le responsable du Département de Composition et Théorie, et s’investit dans plusieurs institutions liées à la création musicale en Suisse, dont l’Association Suisse des Musiciens, l’Association du festival Archipel, la Fondation Nicati-de-Luze, et le Conseil artistique du concours de Genève.   https://soundcloud.com/nicolasbolens https://www.babelscores.com/fr/NicolasBolens  

Michael Jarrell

Professeur de Composition

Né à Genève le 8 octobre 1958, Michael Jarrell étudie la composition dans la classe d'Eric Gaudibert au Conservatoire de Genève et lors de divers stages aux Etats-Unis, Tanglewood (1979). Il complète sa formation à la Staatliche Hochschule für Musik de Freiburg im Breisgau, auprès de Klaus Huber. Depuis 1982, son œuvre a reçu de nombreux prix : Prix Acanthes (1983), Beethovenpreis de la Ville de Bonn (1986), Prix Marescotti (1986), Gaudeamus et Henriette Renié (1988), Siemens-Förderungspreis (1990). Entre 1986 et 1988, il séjourne à la Cité des Arts à Paris et participe au stage d'informatique musicale de l'Ircam. Il est ensuite pensionnaire de la Villa Médicis à Rome en 1988/89, puis membre de l'Instituto Svizzero di Roma en 1989/90. Il reçoit le Prix Musique de la Ville de Vienne en 2010 (Musikpreis der Stadt Wien). D'octobre 1991 à juin 1993, il est compositeur résident à l'Orchestre de Lyon. Depuis 1993, il est professeur de composition à l'Université de Vienne. En 1996, il est accueilli comme « compositeur en résidence » au festival de Lucerne, puis est célébré lors du festival Musica Nova Helsinki, qui lui est dédié en mars 2000. En 2001, le festival de Salzbourg lui passe commande d'un concerto pour piano et orchestre intitulé Abschied. La même année, il est nommé Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres. En 2004, il est nommé professeur de composition au à la Haute école de musique de Genève.

Luis Naon

Professeur de Composition Électroacoustique - Composition Mixte

Né à La Plata, en Argentine, en 1961. Fait des études musicales à l'Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Universidad Católica Argentina à Buenos Aires puis au CNSM de Paris avec Guy Reibel, Laurent Cuniot et Daniel Teruggi, puis avec Sergio Ortega et Horacio Vaggione.  Depuis 1991 est professeur de Composition et Nouvelles Technologies du Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, il est également professeur de composition à l’ESMUC (Barcelone) de 2003 à 2008, puis professeur d’électroacoustique à la HEM de Genève depuis 2006. Depuis celle que l'on peut considérer sa première œuvre, « Final del Juego » pour septuor et bande magnétique (créée au studio 105 de Radio France en 1983), il cherche à mettre en œuvre cette relation dual (entre Amérique et Europe, entre instruments et électronique). Lauréat à la Tribune Internationale de Compositeurs UNESCO 90 et 96 (Tango del desamparo et Speculorum Memoria), Fondo Nacional de las Artes (pour Reflets), Prix TRINAC du Conseil International de la Musique (pour Cinq personnages en quête de hauteur), Olympia Composition Prize (pour Ombre de l'ombre), Prix Municipal de la ville de Buenos Aires 91 et 95 (pour Speculorum Memoria) . Nominé pour les “3èmes Victoires de la Musique Classique " (pour Sextuor « . »), "Prix Georges Enesco" de la Sacem et Prix "Luis de Narváez" de la Caja de Granada pour son Quatuor à cordes n° 2. Collabore avec divers ensembles et des institutions tels le Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication, Teatro Colón (Buenos Aires), Musée d’Art Contemporain du Méxique, l’Orchestre de la Seine-Saint-Denis, Ensemble TM+, Lémanic Modern Ensemble, Interface, Musique Oblique, Musée d’Histoire de Montreuil, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, l’INA-GRM, IRCAM, Orchestre de Paris, Ensemble Contrechamps, Ensemble Diagonal, Ukho ensemble de Kiev, dans des festivals tels Musica Strasbourg, MANCA, Festival d'Aix en Provence, Festival Archipel, Vivier de Montréal. En 1989 réalise la musique pour le défilé sur les Champs-Elysées et la Place de la Concorde pour la commémoration du Bicentenaire de la Révolution Française. Ce défilé a été mondialement télédifusé. Le cycle de 25 œuvres "Urbana", né en 1991, et finalisé en 2013, se cristallise sous ce titre générique à travers "Urbana" (1997). Il comporte 25 œuvres qui vont de la pièce acousmatique à l’orchestre symphonique. Il écrit la musique pour le spectacle « Les Princesses » pour l’Ouverture du Théâtre-Auditorium de Poitier en partenariat avec la chorégraphe Odile Azagury. Près de 3 heures de musique allant de l’électroacoustique seule (pour les chorégraphes Anna Ventura, Karine Saporta ou Dominique Boivin) jusqu’aux pièces pour 15 instruments et électronique (pour les chorégraphes Carolyn Carlson, Héla Fatoumi, Blanca Li, etc.) L’ensemble de cette production fait l’objet d’un double CD dans le label Empreinte Digitale. Parmi ses pièces les plus récentes on peut citer : « Quebrada/Horizonte » pour orchestre, « Pájaro al borde de la noche » pour violoncelle, électronique et ensemble, créés lors des derniers festivals Présences de Radio France, « Ébano y Metal » pour le Lemanic Modern ensemble (Suisse/France). Ou encore « Rastros », pour les ensembles Stick & Bow et Paramirabo de Montréal (qui fait l’objet d’un concert monographique et une captation vidéo) et son « Quatuor à cordes III » (créé au Festival d’Evora en 2021, puis Archipel 2022 et espace de projection de l’Ircam en 2023). Sa dernière pièce, « Fueye », concertino pour bandonéon et ensemble a été créée par Juanjo Mosalini et l’ensemble TM+ à la maison de la musique de Nanterre en octobre 22 et reprise à la Seine Musicale et à Gennevilliers en mai 2023. Ses œuvres sont éditées par Henry Lemoine, Gérard Billaudot et Babelscores.   www.luisnaon.com

Gilbert Nouno

Responsable du Centre de Musique Électroacoustique - Professeur de Musique Électronique - Composition Multimédia - Design Vidéo Interactif - Internet Music - Interfaces, Lutherie Numérique & Systèmes Immersifs - Concept & Création, Open Space

Compositeur, artiste sonore, pédagogue et chercheur, Gilbert Nouno crée une musique très en phase avec les arts visuels et les technologies numériques. Curieux de toute expression, il traverse avec aisance les frontières de l’écriture et de l’improvisation. En tant qu’artiste visuel sous le nom de Til Berg, il combine la synesthésie des arts sonores et des autres médias. À partir de musiques et de sons, il génère des visuels abstraits et minimalistes avec des medium traditionnels et numériques comme la vidéo et la lithographie. Les collaborations de Gilbert Nouno sont frappées du sceau de la pluralité esthétique avec de nombreux artistes comme Pierre Boulez et l’orchestre Philharmonique de Berlin, George Benjamin et le London Sinfonietta, Jonathan Harvey et le Quatuor Arditti, le saxophoniste de Steve Coleman ou encore le flutiste Magic Malik... Lauréat de la Villa Kujoyama à Kyoto en 2007, et de la Villa Médicis, Académie de France à Rome en 2011-2012, Gilbert Nouno rejoint en tant que responsable le Centre de musique électroacoustique de la Haute école de musique de Genève, enseigne la composition à Londres au Royal College of Music, et professeur invité par le DAAD à Detmold (Allemagne). Il enseigne les arts sonores numériques à l’Université de Goldsmiths à Londres où il est également chercheur invité, le live electronics & computer music design à l’Ircam.

Charlotte Perrey Beaude

Professeure de Pratique de l'Écriture - Écriture de Cadences - Solfège

Charlotte Perrey commence ses études musicales par l’apprentissage du piano, développant rapidement un goût prononcé pour l’improvisation et la composition. Après des études en classe de mathématiques supérieures, elle se consacre pleinement à la musique et se spécialise dans l’écriture auprès de Stéphane Delplace. Elle poursuit ses études au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Paris où elle obtient les Premiers Prix en Harmonie, Contrepoint, Ecriture XXe-XXIe, Fugue et Formes, ainsi que le Prix Marcel Dautremer. Elle se forme notamment auprès de Jean-François Zygel, Thierry Escaich et Marc-André Dalbavie.  Elle enseigne aujourd’hui dans les Hautes écoles de musique de Lausanne et de Genève.

Rodolphe Schacher

Professeur de Pratique de l'Écriture - Analyse - Harmonie - Contrepoint

Le compositeur franco-suisse et pianiste Rodolphe Schacher est né en France en 1973. R. Schacher effectue ses études musicales à Paris, Genève et Zurich, sous la direction de Michael Jarrell, Thierry Escaich, Gerald Bennett et Ulrich Koella. Il est récompensé par cinq premiers prix (harmonie, contrepoint, contrepoint renaissance, fugue et formes, musique du XXème siècle) au CNSM de Paris, et obtient le diplôme de composition et de théorie avec les félicitations, ainsi le diplôme de concert en musique de chambre à la Haute Ecole d’Arts de Zurich. Parallèlement à ses activités artistiques, R. Schacher enseigne l’analyse et l’écriture à la Haute Ecole de Musique de Genève, l’écriture à la Haute Ecole de musique de Lausanne, et la composition jusqu’à juin 2015 à la Haute Ecole de Zurich.

Antoine Schneider

Professeur de Pratique de l'Écriture - Contrepoint

Après des études de violon et de musicologie à Genève, Antoine Schneider se perfectionne en théorie musicale à Zurich avec Burkhard Kinzler et Andreas Nick. Il se forme également en direction musicale, en piano et en violon baroque. Il compose et arrange de nombreuses pièces pour des formations diverses et collabore ainsi avec différents ensembles, comme l’Orchestre Nexus, le Chœur Laudate Deum de Lausanne ou encore le Seefelder Kammerchor de Zürich. Il participe à la redécouverte d’œuvres tombées dans l’oubli et crée, entre autres, deux oratorios basés sur des cantates inédites de Christoph Graupner avec l’ensemble Lamed de Zurich et des membres du Bach Collegium Japan. Il mène par ailleurs des travaux de recherches historiques et collabore notamment à des publications sur l’Opéra de Lausanne ainsi que sur les fontaines de Lausanne. Antoine Schneider est actuellement professeur de théorie dans les Hautes écoles de musique à Genève, Fribourg et Bienne.

Nicolas Bolens
Michaël Jarrel
Naon
Gilbert Nouno
Perrey
Schacher
Schneider
Enseignant-e-s disciplines complémentaires
  • Louis Absil
    Solfège
  • Samuel Albert
    Acoustique et régie musicale, Séminaire d'acoustique
  • Vincent Arlettaz
    Histoire de la musique , Initiation à la recherche
  • Luciano Azzigotti
    Internet music
  • Victor Manuel Cordero Charles
    Édition et séquenceurs, Éléments d'analyse, Analyse, Contrepoint, Orchestration
  • Orane Dourde
    Préparation au travail de Bachelor
  • Federico Foderaro
    Design vidéo interactif
  • Carolina Gauna
    Atelier de recherche (master), Préparation au travail de Bachelor
  • Alexandre Guy
    Solfège
  • Angela Mancipe
    Initiation à la recherche
  • Robert Märki
    Orgue comme instrument secondaire, Harmonie au clavier , Harmonie au clavier et improvisation (pour les pianistes)
  • Isandro Ojeda Garcia
    Édition et séquenceurs
  • David Poissonnier
    Séminaire d'acoustique, Technique audio et studio, Technique audio, scène, concerts, Interprétation de musiques mixtes
  • Mathilde Reichler
    Éléments d'analyse, Analyse
  • Luca Ricossa
    Ensemble grégorien, Monodies liturgiques, Solfège
  • Jean-Claude Schlaepfer
    Approche du langage musical, Harmonie
  • Denis Schuler
    Préparation aux métiers Master
  • Pierre-André Taillard
    Séminaire d'acoustique
  • Erardo Vietti
    Orgue comme instrument secondaire, Harmonie au clavier , Harmonie au clavier et improvisation (pour les pianistes), Harmonie
Fonctions académiques transversales
  • Noémie Bialobroda
    Professeure de musique de chambre avec cordes - Coordinatrice de la musique de chambre (GE)
  • Nicolas Bolens
    Responsable du département Composition et Théorie - Professeur de Contrepoint, Écriture du 20e Siècle, Pratique de l'Écriture - Coordination des modules de formation musicale générale
  • Guillaume Castella
    Coordinateur des travaux de bachelor (TBA) et de master (TMA)
  • Manon Edouard-Douriaud
    Assistante HES
  • Florence Jaccottet
    Responsable du département Musique et mouvement - Professeure d'Atelier d'expérimentation créative - Rythmique Jaques-Dalcroze - Technique et composition du mouvement - Coordinatrice de la préparation physique et mentale
  • Edmée Pasche
    Coordinatrice de la préparation aux métiers
  • Nancy Rieben
    Coordinatrice de l'enseignement
  • Christophe Sturzenegger
    Professeur d'Harmonie au clavier - Harmonie au clavier et improvisation (pour les pianistes) - Piano comme instrument secondaire - Coordination harmonie au clavier et piano comme instrument secondaire
  • Carine Tripet
    Responsables des filières pédagogiques - Professeure en Sciences de l'éducation
  • Johann Vacher
    Professeur d'Atelier de recherche Master - Harmonie au clavier - Piano comme instrument secondaire - Journées thématiques (coordinateur) - Coordinateur de la musique contemporaine
  • Gerardo Gustavo Vila
    Coordinateur de la musique de chambre (NE)
Accompagnateurs

Évènements

Témoignages

J’ai choisi la HEM pour la renommée de son équipe pédagogique et l’importance des moyens qu’elle met à la disposition de ses étudiant-e-s dans le domaine de la musique électro-acoustique

Nicolas Roulive Etudiant en Master de composition